College of Design
College of Design

Dean Search

National Search for Dean
College of Design, University of Minnesota


The University of Minnesota is conducting a national search for a visionary and collaborative academic leader to be the next dean of the College of Design.

The dean will be chief executive and academic officer of one of the country’s most comprehensive design colleges, uniquely situated within a highly ranked, globally engaged public research university and in one of the country’s foremost design communities.


Search Committee


Jean Quam (Chair) | Dean and Professor, College of Education and Human Development

Sarah Alfalah | Ph.D. Student, Graduate Teaching Instructor, and Research Assistant, Graphic Design Program, Design, Housing, & Apparel

Abimbola (Abi) Asojo | Professor and Director of Interior Design Program, Design, Housing, and Apparel

Michael Bjornberg | Project Manager and Architect, HGA Architects and Engineers; Assistant Adjunct Professor/Professor in Practice, School of Architecture

Elizabeth “Missy” Bye | Professor, Apparel Design, and Head, Design, Housing, & Apparel

William Conway | Professor, School of Architecture

Patrick English | Undergraduate Student, Architecture

Joe Favour | Associate Professor in Practice and Interim Head, Landscape Architecture

Richard Graves | Associate Professor and Director of Center for Sustainable Building Research, School of Architecture

Hyunjoo Im | Assistant Professor, Retail Merchandising Program, Design, Housing, & Apparel

Kate Maple | Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Student Services, College of Design

Lin Nelson-Mayson | Director, Goldstein Museum of Design; Director of Graduate Studies, Museum Studies Graduate Minor; Board Chair, Minnesota Association of Museums






The University of Minnesota shall provide equal access to and opportunity in its programs, facilities, and employment without regard to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, gender, age, marital status, disability, public assistance status, veteran status, sexual orientation, gender identity, or gender expression.

Search Timeline

A search committee was convened by Executive Vice President and Provost Karen Hanson in May 2016, with national search firm Isaacson Miller assisting in the recruitment of outstanding candidates. A Position Profile was finalized in July 2016 following consultation and listening sessions. Recruitment of candidates took place throughout the summer and fall. Confidential interviews with select candidates took place in early November. Based on search committee recommendations, Provost Hanson announced the selection of four finalists to be invited for public interviews beginning in late November.



Related Links


Position Profile (PDF)


Nominations and Applications


Search Committee


About the College of Design


About the
University of Minnesota


Contact the Committee

The provost's search committee for the College of Design dean position welcomes input and questions from the campus and community at any time. Please offer your comments, thoughts, and questions via email to to





For More Information


Jean Quam,

Search Committee chair

Kate Tyler,

Assistant to the Provost and lead staff to committee





Contact Information

College of Design

Saint Paul Offices

32 McNeal Hall, 1985 Buford Ave, St. Paul, MN 55108

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-1922

[directions and maps]

Minneapolis Offices

101 Rapson Hall, 89 Church St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-7525

[directions and maps]

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement
Current as of