College of Design
College of Design

The College

Although we know that higher education is a worthwhile investment for society as well as for individuals, keeping college affordable is a challenge. With 200607 annual in-state undergraduate tuition and fees at approximately $9,200 and graduate tuition and fees between $10,000 and $17,000 a year, increasing support for students is one of the college's top priorities. Scholarships and fellowships provide College of Design students the opportunity to focus on their academic goals and succeed.


Listed below are the endowed scholarships and fellowships established by generous donors to support students in the College of Design. These endowments provide support to students year after year. And, anyone can add to these funds or create their own. A minimum gift of $25,000 is required to establish an endowed scholarship or fellowship. The gift may be paid over five years. Special matching opportunities are available for new endowed scholarships and fellowships, making it possible to double the impact of these gifts.


Please contact Jan Sickbert, director of development, at 612-624-3283, or Sue Danielson Bretheim, major gifts officer, at 612-624-1386, to discuss your interest in advancing the design professions and helping students succeed.


P.S. Our fiscal year ends on June 30, 2007. Please use the enclosed envelope to make your year-end gift. Special recognition will be given to all who donate during the college's inaugural year.


College of Design endowed scholarships and fellowships

Clara Brown Arny Leadership Assistantship: Established by Charlotte E. Biester to honor Clara Brown Arny

Leon Arnal Memorial in Architecture: Established in memory of Leon Arnal

Alpha Rho Chi Endowment: Established by the architecture fraternity, Alpha Rho Chi

AIA Minneapolis Graduate Fellowship: Established by AIA Minneapolis

Steven R. Andrews Fellowship in Landscape Architecture: Established by Russell and Barbara Andrews in memory of Steven Andrews, MLA '04

Marian-Ortolf Bagley Scholarship in Design Communication: Established by Professor Marian-Ortolf Bagley, former design, housing, and apparel professor

Timothy Trent Blade Undergraduate Scholarship: Established to honor Timothy Trent Blade by Rodney Allen Schwartz, along with other friends, family, and colleagues

Theodore R. Butler Graduate Fellowship: Established in memory of Theodore Butler, BArch '52

Bernard Hein Trust: Established in memory of Bernard Hein, BArch '37

Class of '67 Fund: Established by members of the bachelor of architecture class of '67

Sam Druy Scholarship in Retail Merchandising: Established as a tribute to Sam Druy, former head of Retail Merchandising Program

Design Democracy Fellowship: Established through gifts from Target Corporation, individual architecture alumni, firms, and allied professionals

Helen Marie Souhrada Evans Scholarship: Established by Viola Leslie, along with other family members, to honor Helen Marie Souhrada Evans, '42

Elness Swenson Graham Fellowship in Architecture: Established by ESG Architects through the leadership of Mark Swenson, BArch '73, and David Graham, BArch '78, and other alumni of ESG

Founders Fund Graduate Fellowship in Landscape Architecture: Established by alumni and friends in landscape architecture

Gamma Omicron Beta Endowment Fund: Established by the Gamma Omicron Beta Foundation

George G. Gorbatenko, Jr., Memorial Fellowship Fund: Established in memory of George Gorbatenko, Jr., BArch '84

Girard K. Gray Fellowship in Architecture and Landscape Architecture: To support graduate students in architecture or landscape architecture

Paul Maynard Havens Scholarship Fund: Established in memory of Paul Havens, architecture, '27 and '33

DHA Endowed Student Support Fund (formerly CHE Scholarship Fund): Established by alumni and friends of the former College of Human Ecology

Alumni Society Scholarship for Design, Housing, and Apparel (formerly Human Ecology Alumni Society Scholarship Fund): Established by alumni of the former College of Human Ecology

Walter T. Iverson Memorial Scholarship: Textile studies scholarship to honor Walter T. Iverson

Jerome L. Joss Endowment for the Goldstein Gallery: Established by Jerome L. Joss to honor Harriett and Vetta Goldstein

KKE-Ron Krank Vision Award: Established in honor of Ron Krank, BArch '59

Kopischke-Westwood Graduate Fellowship in Landscape Architecture: Established in memory of Greg Kopischke, BLA '92

Legacy Scholarship Fund: Anonymous donor-created fund to support and further undergraduate student scholarship and academic endeavors

Jacob J. Liebenberg Scholarship Fund: Established in memory of Jacob Liebenberg, BArch '16

Richard Morrill Memorial Fund: A thesis award established in memory of Dick Morrill, BArch '59

Stanley and Doris Moe Scholarship Fund: Established by Stanley, BArch '36, and Doris, BArch '37, Moe

Ochs Brick Fund: Established by the Van Hoomisen family

Edmund J. Phelps Memorial Fund: In honor of pioneer Minnesota landscape architect Edmund Phelps

Ethel L. Phelps Assistantship: Established by Charlotte E. Biester to honor Ethel L. Phelps

Pesek Scholarship: Established by the estate of Cyril Pesek, BArch '25

May Ohrbeck Painter Graduate Fellowship: Established by May Ohrbeck Painter, BArch '32

Bill and Elizabeth Pedersen Graduate Fellowship in Architecture: Established by Bill, BArch '61, and Elizabeth Pedersen

Sandy Ritter Fellowship: Established in memory of Sandy Ritter, BArch '68

Ralph Rapson Fund: Established by alumni and friends in honor of Ralph Rapson

James E. Sorenson Scholarship Fund: Established in memory of James Sorenson, BArch '58

Russell/Esther Sorenson Endowed Scholarship: Established by the estate of Russell Sorenson, BArch '27

Sullivan Family Fellowship in Architecture: Established by Patrick, BArch '68, and Cynthia Sullivan

Inez Roach Thexton Scholarship Fund: Established through the estate of Inez Roach Thexton, BArch '33

Jo Tushie Endowed Fellowship in Landscape Architecture, Imagination is More Important than

Knowledge: Established by Gary Tushie, MLA, BED '77, in memory of Jo Tushie

Waller Award for Design, Housing, and Apparel: Established by Luckie B. and Dora Agee Waller


"...I would like to express my appreciation for your wonderful gift to me. It is hard to convey in words how much you have helped me come closer to accomplishing my goals for the next four years here in Minnesota."
-- Caitlen Cain, class of 2010 200607 recipient of the Gamma Omicron Beta Scholarship


"...I have funded both my undergraduate and graduate education on my own. Without such fellowships and grants, it would not be possible for me to continue my education because of the financial burden."
-- Jamie Ann Tschida, capstone/third-year MLA student, spring 2007 recipient of the Edmund J. Phelps Graduate Fellowship


"...I cannot thank you enough for your investment in my education and my development as a future architect. From a student's perspective, your continued support to the college is a gift that will always be valued."
-- Thomas Clark, MArch candidate 200607 recipient of the Sullivan Family Fellowship

Contact Information

College of Design

Saint Paul Offices

32 McNeal Hall, 1985 Buford Ave, St. Paul, MN 55108

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-1922

[directions and maps]

Minneapolis Offices

101 Rapson Hall, 89 Church St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-7525

[directions and maps]

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement
Current as of