College of Design
* indicates required
Your connection to the College of Design
Email Format
Email Signup

Clinton Hewitt Awarded ASLA Fellowship

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) named Emeritus Professor Clinton Hewitt an ASLA Fellow during its 2011 annual meeting and Expo. The award recognizes the contributions of individuals to their profession and society at large, and is conferred on individuals in recognition of exceptional accomplishments over a sustained period of time. An ASLA Fellowship is among the highest honors awarded to its members.


“Clint is the embodiment of the climate of respect that underpins the everyday dignity of the University of Minnesota,” said Professor Lance Neckar, head of the Department of Landscape Architecture.


Hewitt retired in 2009 after almost three decades of service to the University as professor and associate vice president for campus master planning. In honor of his achievements, friends and colleagues established the Clinton N. Hewitt Fellowship for students with exceptional potential in the field of landscape architecture.



Keith Mensah (left), the 2011 recipient of the Clinton N. Hewitt Fellowship, with Clint Hewitt (right).