College of Design
College of Design

The College

College of Design Awards

The annual Honors and Awards event will be held Friday, May 5, 2017 in the Rapson Courtyard.
Breakfast will be available at 8:00 AM, with the program beginning promptly at 8:30.





Nominators will submit their nominations via a Google form. A link to this form will be sent to all faculty and staff at the Call for Nominations at the beginning of December. The form is also accessible via the link below.


Note: There have been some changes to this year's nomination guidelines and to the Teaching Awards. Please be sure to review the award information carefully.


Google Nomination Form



DEADLINE EXTENDED: Nominations are now due via Google Form

no later than Friday, February 24, 2017


This year's award period runs from May 5, 2016 though April 25, 2017.

  • College of Design Nomination Guidelines (PDF)
  • NOTE: Teams nominated in an Individual-only category will not be considered.
    • Individuals only: Teaching, Adjunct Teaching, P&A, CS/BU, Undergraduate Student, Graduate Student
    • Individuals or Teams: Research, Outreach, Service, Student Design and Scholarship




Outstanding Civil Service/Labor Represented Award: Recognizes individual civil service and labor represented staff who have demonstrated excellence and professionalism in their overall performance and who have made meaningful contributions to their unit and/or the College and University.



Outstanding Contributions to Equity and Diversity Award: Recognizes individuals and/or teams who have made outstanding contributions to enhancing diversity and equity in the college and/or the community on the basis of race, sexual orientation, religion, gender identity, age, ability, national origin, and/or social background.




Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Recognizes exceptional leadership and academic accomplishments of individual graduate students in the College of Design.



Outstanding Outreach Award: Recognizes outreach, engagement or disciplinary service scholarship by individuals and/or teams within or across disciplines that have addressed a critical civic, economic, environmental, health, social, or other related issue in Minnesota, the nation, or the world.



Outstanding P&A Award: Recognizes individual academic/professional personnel and administrative personnel for outstanding achievement in furthering the mission and goals of their unit(s) and/or the College of Design.



Outstanding Research Award: Recognizes research/discovery scholarship and the creative process by individuals and/or teams within or across disciplines that have contributed to new knowledge and understandings within one or more of the central fields in the College of Design.



Outstanding E Teaching Award: The E Teaching award recognizes one instructor who has been nominated and then selected by the student population for his/her innovative use of technology in teaching.  This award is intended to focus on innovative ways that instructors have used technology to effectively teach the varied subjects that the College of Design offers.



Outstanding Teaching Award--New this Year: Following the model previously established for the

E Teaching award, all of the teaching awards for this year will be student driven. Students will be asked to nominate instructors and to outline the reason for their nominations. The two instructors who receive the most votes, regardless of their status as full time, part time, or adjunct, will be this year's winners. Faculty and staff should refrain from unduly influencing the student vote.



Outstanding Team Service Award: Recognizes individuals or teams of faculty and staff for work that advances the mission and goals of their unit(s) and/or the College of Design.



Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award: Recognizes exceptional leadership and academic accomplishments of individual current undergraduate students in the College of Design.



Student Design and Scholarship Excellence Award: Recognizes exceptional student work from the current school year. Award categories include: undergraduate individual, undergraduate team, graduate individual and graduate team.



List of Current and Previous College of Design Honors and Awards Recipients


2017 CDes Honors and Awards Committee

James Boyd Brent-Design, Housing, & Apparel

Megan Clarke- Undergraduate Student Representative
Joe Favour- Landscape Architecture

Amber Heldt- CSLR Staff

Cynthia Jara- Architecture

Rodrigo Lozada-Graduate Student Representative
Kate Maple - Dean's Designee
Lin Nelson-Mayson- P&A Staff (Chair)
Kathryn Reiley-Adjunct Representative
Shannon Sawyer- Dean's Office Staff to the Committee


Univeristy Wide Awards and Honors

For persons who are not employees of the University:

For persons who are current employees of the University:

For persons in both of the categories above:

International Awards & Honors:


For all awards except the Nobel Prize, the recipient must have spent at least five years on the University of Minnesota faculty, and must not have left the University before receiving the award. The Nobel Prize recognizes those who at any time in their careers spent time at the U of MN.

National Awards




Related Links


Useful Links


Note: College of Design Award Nominations are due via Google form no later than February 17, 2017.

Contact Information

College of Design

Saint Paul Offices

32 McNeal Hall, 1985 Buford Ave, St. Paul, MN 55108

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-1922

[directions and maps]

Minneapolis Offices

101 Rapson Hall, 89 Church St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455

P: 612-626-9068 | F: 612-625-7525

[directions and maps]

© 2015 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement
Current as of